Senior caregiver, 55+, for lady with advanced DEMENTIA (82), USA, near NYC


Farm Court
Sagaponack, NY 11962
United States

Category
Industry
Healthcare / Health Services
Job Start Date
23/02/2020
Job End Date
30/09/2020
Application Closing Date
30/09/2020
Pay
From €44,000
Per Year    
Employment Type
Employee
Work Schedule
Full-Time Temporary
Travel
Some Travel Required

Job Description

 

Position is for ladies - either with experience with dementia OR with a shown track record of continued good work ethics in another domain. Given the nature of the job, other members of the team and the lady's (82) personality/memories as a ballet teacher, applicants 55+ and/or 20s/entry level with no dependents are especially encouraged to apply.
Candidate would be part of a team of herself and at least one other caregiver.


This is a live-in/partial live-in position in Bridgehampton, NY, for 3 months at a time. Ideal candidate is well-spoken and kind-hearted with a cheerful, peaceful demeanor. Driver's license necessary.

SCOPE: Two separate positions are available with different starting dates. Younger candidate (February 23/24 start or later) should fill the nightshift/morning position (typically 8:30pm-8:30am), with two full daytime shifts (typically 8:30am-8:30pm). Nights are typically slept through so far with some occasional and brief anxiety episodes - hoping that caregiver would be able to sleep them through as well, with the exception of occasional bathroom breaks with lady as needed (so far not typical) . Required to sleep in same room 5 nights out of 7, but caregiver would have her own room and bathroom.
Older candidate (somewhat later start, exact date to be confirmed - June start possible) is required for daytime companionship (practical duties + soulmate purposes) for 5 x 12 hour daytime shifts a week.
The scope of the position involves companionship (conversations, reading the newspaper/books to the lady, watching and discussing documentaries), warming up food (some ability to cook simple meals is appreciated but not necessary), and assistance with getting dressed, everyday tasks and medium/high level assistance with hygiene in the bathroom (laundry, occasional nighttime accidents + lady needs help completing some bathroom tasks). Caregiver needs to be strong enough to lift 96 pounds (lady's weight) out of the bathtub. (I weigh 118 pounds and so far could do it on my own.)


This position is situated 2 hours from NYC, in the beautiful Hamptons, NY, 5 minutes from sandy beaches, in the midst of picturesque, well-kept countryside. Sunny house and ideal working conditions. One cat.



Please send email containing the following:

PHOTO included (face, eyes visible)
information on applicant's current commitments (pets, plants, spouse/child/other dependent situation)
current whereabouts/employment commitments
earliest availability
Personal: relevant life story, any limitations and most importantly: some description on hobbies and on what makes the applicant happy! :)
(Household includes a 11-year-old girl, myself and my husband for weekends during the school year.)
Thank you.